The Perfect Guide About Visa Requirements For Aruba

By Dhruvalakshmi Paithankar on Mar 14, 2019
* Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission if you click a link and book something (there is never any extra cost to you for using these links).

The tropical paradise of Aruba is all yours to explore on your next trip! Well-connected to most of the major countries around the world, Aruba has experienced an increasing flow of tourists in the last couple of decades. And if you worried about Aruba visa and other formalities, don’t be! The visa process became a whole lot of easier after Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, and the Caribbean Netherlands decided in favor of the common visa policy. So, here is everything you need to know about visa requirements for Aruba for tourists -

Which countries are eligible for visa-free entry in Aruba?

media_gallery-2019-03-12-11-Which_countries456_1afb2ccd6cd06e148627f560aa6a0d52.jpgImage Source:

There is a common visa policy applicable for Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, and the Caribbean Netherlands. But this visa is not applicable for the part of the Netherlands that comes under European territory. Even the Schengen Visa is not considered valid for tourists traveling to Aruba. 

If you are a national of any of the countries mentioned below, you can take advantage of the visa waiver program and visit Aruba without a visa - 

All European Union citizens (including all forms of British nationality), Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Suriname, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay,  Vatican City, and Venezuela.

Things to keep in mind - 

  • In the case of Hong Kong, visa-exemption is applicable only for those holding a Hong Kong Special Administrative Region passport. 
  • In the case of Macau, visa-free entry is allowed only if a traveler has a Macau Special Administrative Region passport.
  • If you are a Taiwanese citizen, a Taiwan passport with a personal identification number is necessary.

Who else can enter Aruba without a visa?

media_gallery-2019-03-12-12-Who_else123_9493df15d73580bae2d23c41fb835591.jpgImage Source:

Aruba also accepts a substitute visa making things easier for tourists. If your country is not visa exempted but you have a residence permit or a visa issued by the United Kingdom, Ireland, or any Schengen country, you may enter Aruba without a visa. 

Some nationals are also visa exempted if they have a visa issued by the United State or Canada. The list of such countries includes but is not limited to -

Bolivia, China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Haiti, India, Jamaica, and Peru.

Who needs a visa to enter Aruba? 

media_gallery-2019-03-12-12-Who_needs123_6695cd2da9168f8c94ff6cf312b32141.jpgImage Source:

Some countries need to apply for a visa in advance to visit Aruba. These countries are -

East Timor, Georgia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Ukraine, and Vanuatu.

Other than these countries, if any country is not mentioned in the list of visa exemption, then it might require applying for a visa in advance. 

How to apply for the Aruba tourist visa?

You will personally need to visit an embassy/consulate of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to request a visa. You register for an appointment from the official website of Aruba. CRN number tracking is available on the official website where you can check the status of your submitted documents easily.

The Aruba tourist visa is usually valid for 30 to 180 days depending upon the country. If your country comes under a visa-waiver program, then you may be allowed to explore Aruba for a maximum of 30 days and will have to apply for a visa after that.

Which travel documents you need for Aruba?

media_gallery-2019-03-12-12-Which_travel456_43642739aa191d8ef7129c2dc247e6ba.jpgImage Source:

When you are planning to visit Aruba as a tourist, here are the documents you need to submit -

  • A passport that was issued less than 10 years ago and is valid for at least 6 months after you have left Aruba. 
  • A passport that has one blank page for entry and exit stamps.
  • The Embarkation and Disembarkation card, also known as Aruba ED-card, must be filled-in and signed. 
  • Proof of sufficient funds to cover all the expenses during your entire stay. (If requested)
  • A proof that you are allowed to return to your home country. 
  • A valid return ticket or an onward ticket. 
  • Proof of your stay in Aruba. It can be an accommodation reservation or invitation letter from friends/family already staying in Aruba. 

If a tourist is arriving from African countries, Central America, or Latin America, then the proof of required vaccinations is necessary. 

How much is the Aruba visa fee?

A short-term tourist visa fee for Aruba may cost somewhere around USD 40. But it is subjected to change depending upon your nationality and the duration of your stay.

* Details mentioned above are subject to change without prior notice. Checking the official websites is recommended before applying.

Related Articles