The Old House or popularly known as the Black and White House Museum is a 17th-century building with timber frames and period furnishing. Dating back to 1621, the house depicting Jacobean era was used as a residence and shop of a local butcher till 1929 and has also been used by bankers and ironmongers. The Coat of Arms of the Worshipful Company of Butchers on the front door will catch your attention, so will the 15th-century fireplace tucked inside the South East Room and the molded frieze adorning the second floor. The 17th-century furniture, most of them made of English Oak adorn the dining hall, kitchen, and parlour. Four-poster bed, baby-walker, and rare wall-paintings are noteworthy. Popular activities at The Old House include Jacobean Evening Events, kids dressing up with Jacobean attires and historical replica puzzles.
How to Reach The Old House
- Buses 75, 404, 405, 420, 436, 453, 469, 476, 478 to stop : Shire Hall (Stand 3)
- Buses 71, 72B, 74S, 426, 449 to stop : Shire Hall (Stand 1)
- Buses 33, 36, 39, 39A, 74S, 75, 75S, 411, 413, 440, 441, 447, 448, 449, 454, X3 to stop : Maylord Shopping Centre (Stand 3)
- Buses 33, 36, 39, 39A, 71, 72A, 74A, 75, 76, 77A, 77C, 81, 81A to stop : Franklin Barnes