Writers BuildingCurrently Open
- Address: BBD Bag N, Lal Dighi, BBD Bagh, Kolkata, West Bengal 700001, India
- Timings: 24-hrs Details
- Phone: +9133-22145600
- Ticket Price: Free
- Time Required: 01:00 Hrs
- Tags: Family And Kids, Heritage Building
Writers Building - Review
Writer’s building is one of the most prominent buildings in Kolkata attracting thousands of visitors to it every year. The place used to be the house of State Government of West Bengal a few years back, but today it stands as a great example of city’s history and victorian era architecture. Most of the people come here to watch and admire its structure and design that is around 150 years old. Not only that, there is a certain history to this place too that you must definitely delve into. Located in the northern part of BBD Bagh, this beautiful building got its name from the fact that it was once accommodated by a bunch of Junior writers of East India Company who transformed this place with their Baroque statues and noirish interiors. A must visit for history lovers and curious souls.
Writers Building Information
- Entrance in the building may not be allowed but you can visit its surrounding and view the architecture.
Writers Building Ticket Prices
- Entry is free.
Writers Building Opening and Closing Hours
- The surroundings are open throughout the day.
How To reach Writers Building by Public Transport
- Bus Station : Kalighat Fairly
Love this? Explore the entire list of things to do in Kolkata before you plan your trip.
Fancy a good night's sleep after a tiring day? Check out where to stay in Kolkata and book an accommodation of your choice.
Things to Know Before Visiting Writers Building
6.6% of people who visit Kolkata include Writers Building in their plan
3 PM - 4 PM
48.99% of people start their Writers Building visit around 3 PM - 4 PM
People usually take around 1 Hr to see Writers Building
85.25% of people prefer to travel by car while visiting Writers Building
Writers Building Map
Writers Building Trips
Writers Building, Kolkata Reviews
Once upon a time it was the seat of power of the east India company and from here the east India company oversaw its territorial expansion over the Indian subcontinent. After the sepoy mutiny in 1858 when the power to administrate India changed hands, from the east India company to the British parliament, even then this remained the seat of British power in India till 1911, when Delhi became the capital of India. After that the writers' building was used for controlling the province of Bengal and till 2011 it remained the seat of power in west Bengal. The present government of West Bengal due to its ignorance of historical knowledge and insight is giving a step motherly treatment to this historical writers'building and it is so unfortunate and demeaning that because of political ideologies or rather lack of it and to be specific, if I can take the liberty to say so, because of its colour red, this writers' building has lost in shine and glory in the present day Bengal and today it bears the sad testimony of desertion and decay.
Former seat of West Bengal Goverment machinery. Now shifted to Nabanna. Historic building.Housed lower division clerk of East India Company called 'Writers' and thus this building got it's name. Now nearly empty.
It is now a heritage building of Kolkata, city of joy. located at northern part of B.B.D. Bagh. The original structure of the Writers’ Building of Kolkata was quite simple. At past the Writers’ Building of Kolkata serves as the Secretariat of West Bengal Government. The colossal building is also known as ‘Mahakaran’, where all vital documents and other records of the West Bengal Government are preserved.
The Writers' Building (Bengali: মহাকরণ, translit. Mahakaran), often shortened to just Writers', is the secretariat building of the State Government of West Bengal in India.It is located in West Bengal's capital city of Kolkata. The 150-meter long Writers' Building covers the entire northern stretch of the a water body locally called Lal Dighi in the B.B.D. Bagh area.
1776: The site of the demolished St Anne's church and the adjoining plot were granted to Thomas Lyon, after whom Lyons Range is named, to construct buildings to accommodate the junior servants of the East India Company or the "writers". Lyon was acting on behalf of Richard Barwell, member of the council, when Warren Hastings was governor. Writers' Building was the first three-storey building in Calcutta. 1800: Fort William College, opened to train writers in Oriental languages, later moved to this building. Over the next 20 years, structural changes were made: a hostel for 32 students and an exam hall, which still exist, a lecture hall, four libraries and rooms to teach Hindi and Persian. 1821: A 128 ft-long verandah with Ionic columns, each 32 ft high, were added on the first and second floors. Cluster of statues atop Writers' Building 1830: The college moved out of Writers' and the building fell into the hands of private individuals who turned it into living quarters, shops and godowns. The Government College of Engineering functioned from here for some time. 1871–74: George Campbell, lieutenant governor-general, felt the need for a secretariat for "quick disposal of work". But the East Indian Railway Company occupied a large space at Writers' and was unable to find alternative accommodation. 1877–82: Ashley Eden, lieutenant-governor of Bengal, was told to relocate the principal offices, housed on Sudder Street and Chowringhee, to Writers'. Because of the space crunch, initially three blocks were constructed. 1879–1906: Two new blocks were added, approached by iron staircases that are still in use. Writers' acquired its Greco-Roman look, complete with the portico in the central bay and the red surface of exposed brick. The parapet was put in place and statues sculpted by William Fredric Woodington in 1883 were installed lining the terrace. Minerva stands above the central portico. Pre-independence, Writers' had a large courtyard with seven blocks. By 1970, all 13 blocks were constructed. The main block, including the rotunda and five main blocks, are heritage structures