Day 1. Bucharest - Sibiu
Meet the guide at 08.00 a.m. and start to Sibiu city.
We will start the tour heading north from Bucharest and will cross the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania and reach Sibiu. On our way will visit Cozia Monastery erected by Mircea cel Bãtrân in 1388 and boasting his tomb, is one of the most valuable monuments of national medieval art and architecture in Romania.
In the summer time between 1st of June and 15th of September, the tour will change the way to arrive to Sibiu City crossing Transfagarasan Road, a unique experience of crossing the Carpathians on the N-S direction at a maximum altitude of 2000 m on the highest road in Romania. On our way will visit Curtea de Arges Monastery.
One of the oldest cities in Romania, Curtea de Arges (in translation: The Court of Arges) used to be the capital of Wallachia (we, Romanians, call this region Muntenia, as there are many mountains here). Another name for Wallachia is Vechiul Regat - The Old Kingdom, as its history indicates it as one of the first regions where royal dynasties set foot.
Monastery of Curtea de Arges was founded by Prince Neagoe Basarab between 1514-1517 years.
Arrived in Sibiu, we will visit the medieval city.
Day 2. Sibiu - Brasov - Bran - Bucharest
Drive to thecity of Brasov - where Vlad led raids against the German Saxons.
We will visit the medieval part of the city with: The Black Church, The Town Hall, The Black Tower, Ecaterina’s Gate.
Today we will visit Dracula’s Castle - as in Bram Stoker's legendary vampire story. Situated at 30 Km from Brasov, between the Bucegi and Piatra Craiului Mountains, Bran Castle is an important national monument and landmark of the Romanian tourism, due not only to the beauty of the Castle and the landscape but also to the legend of Count Dracula. The first documentary attestation of the Bran Castle is the act issued on November 19, 1377, by Ludovic I D'Anjou giving the inhabitants of Brasov the privilege to build the Citadel "on their own work and expense".
On December lst, 1920, the Brasov Town council donated the Bran Castle to Queen Marie of Great Romania, as a symbol of gratitude for her contribution to the achievement of the "Great Union" of 1 December 1918.
Between years 1920 - 1927 the Bran Castle was restored under the guidance of the Royal Court architect. He transformed it into a beautiful summer residence, surrounded with a park, fountains, a lake, walking alleys and halt terraces and built the "Tea House" of Queen Maria.
Since 1956 the Castle was opened as a museum of history and feudal art.
We continue to Sinaia, the beautiful mountain resort surnamed "The Pearl of the Carpathians" where we will visit Peles Castle: one of Romania's most beautiful palaces once the summer residence of the Romanian kings.
Peles Castle is the most notable residents Romanian Royal family, one of the most beautiful castles in Eastern Europe. A testimony to the 19th century ruler’s refinement, the wonderful edifice was built after the wish of Romania’s first king, Carol I, and it happily mingled everything that was most beautiful and representative about the neo-Renaissance. The intricate facades, with applications of brown silky wood towers that seem to scratch the sky with their sharp roofs, along with the fountains and statues all make up a harmonious ensemble designed by accomplished Viennese architects.
Peles has entered history as the place where some of the most important decisions were taken regarding Romania’s fate. Anniversaries, balls, music, literary events, and theater shows organized on the scene of the theater hall gave life to the castle and refreshed the Romanian high life. The atmosphere of this place preserves so much of the force of those times that visitors will be surprised when, at their departure, they will notice that no gilded carriage is waiting at the stairs!
Since 1953, the year when Peles Castle became a museum, any visitor can admire the elegant interiors and superb terraces, as well as the buildings belonging to the castle: Pelisor Castle, The Watch Tower and Sinaia Monastery, situated right near the castle.
The construction of the castle began in 1875 and the building was inaugurated in 1883. The castle has 160 rooms, opulently decorated with leather, ebony, walnut and mother of pearl, with invaluable collections of art and furniture.
Visit Sinaia Monastery - the name of the town comes from the Monastery of Sinaia, built in 1695 by the "spatar" (old high rank among the military nobility of the Valahian kingdom) Mihai Cantacuzino after a pilgrimage to the Holy Land, at Mount Sinai; the monastery contains religious objects, icons, rare books and the exhibition of pottery and porcelain ware (dating from 16th - 19th cent.).
Return to Bucharest in the evening.