Full-Day Excursion To Assisi From Rome

From
USD
Per Person
Book this tour with

Tour Information

Key Details

  • Mobile Voucher Accepted
  • Free Cancellation
  • Duration: 8 Hrs
  • Language:
    English
  • Departure Time :
    7:00 AM All flight times are approximate and subject to change due to weather conditions and weight restrictions.
  • Departure Details :
    Via Tolemaide, 24, 00192 Roma RM, Italy
  • Return Details :
    Returns to original departure point
  • Cancellation Policy :
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Tours booked using discount coupon codes will be non refundable.

Overview

Enjoy a full-dayexcursion from Rome to the Umbrian town of Assisi. Admire the largeBasilica of St. Francis and its crypt. Marvel atthe workof Italian masters likethe Lorenzetti brothers and Simone Martini, and stained glass windows by Giovanni di Bonino and Puccio Capanna. Especially noteworthy are the masterpiece frescoes by Giotto and Cimabue. Visit the monastery house and its remarkable treasures, including rare manuscripts, paintings, reliquaries, tapestries, vestments, and frontals.

Highlights

  • Excellent value for money
  • Family friendly

Know More about this tour

See the Tomb of St. Francis in the crypt of the Basilica of St. Francis. The saint's remains in their stone containerwere excavated between 1818-1824, and his tomb was rebuilt and restored in the late 1920s.Above the altar, in the space of the ancient tomb, you can see the simple stone container enclosed by iron bars in two grids surrounded by four rough walls. The body of St. Francis still lies inside this container. In the corner niches lie the remains of four companions of St. Francis: Rufino, Angelo, Masseo, and Leone. Above is a lamp in bronze and alabaster, offered by the Regions of Italy in1939 to the "patron saint of the Nation Primary."

St. Francis died next to the Porziuncola, the modest chapel where his church had begun, on October 3, 1226. The next day, his body was brought back into Assisifor his followers to kiss the stigmata.

In 1228, Brother Elias(the successor to the command of the Order) hadreceived the gift of a plot of land outside of the western gate of Assisi. It was on a steep rise of Mount Subasio where they hanged criminals,and therefore he called it the Hill of Hell. On that cursed place they determined to builda very large church that would welcome the body of the great saint (he became a saint in 1228). The pope came to the Hill of Hellto bless the first stone, and work began on the basilica.

The saint's remains were interred in 1230 inthe crypt below the Lower Basilica, but the exact location of his tomb was secretto keep Saracen invaders from raiding the tomb. The tomb was only re-discovered in 1818, when excavations began.

Inclusions

Small-group walking tour

Professional English, Spanish driver

Exclusions

Hotel pickup and drop-off

Gratuities

Additional Info

Confirmation will be received at time of booking

Children must be accompanied by an adult

Dress code is casual

The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions

A moderate amount of walking is involved, please wear comfortable shoes